Tarot has been used for centuries as a tool for divination. It is a deck of 78 cards full of Numerology, astrological and biblical symbolism. These cards are split into 2 groups, the major arcana containing 22 cards and the minor arcana consisting of the remaining 56 cards. These cards are used the give a tarot reading, of past, present and future life messages.

So, what is tarot card reading for? Each card individually represents situations which we face in life, and carries specific messages of guidance.

What is Major Arcana in tarot reading

The 22 cards of the major arcana, are a series of images which portray different stages of a journey. This is the journey of life which all people must take from birth through the childhood, adolescence and adulthood. They are the most impactful cards in the deck. Life is a challenge of love, conflict, rebellion, crisis, change, transformation and awakening. Through life, we face many cycles, each with a beginning a middle and an end. All the cards of the major arcana are rites of passage, stages or processes, rather than end results which do not change. Each stage of life leads the the next one, and though we may feel comfortable in one cycle and not wish the progress, it is not in our power the remain stuck in time. When we feel that we have reached a goal and achieved, one cycle ends and another begins.

In tarot this is represented as the Fool. The cards follow the Fools journey and displays messages through imagery and symbols. They focus on karmic influence and the archeotypical themes which are influencing our life at the present moment and near future.

The 22 cards of the major arcana

00 The Fool

01 The Magician

02 High Priestess

03 Empress

04 Emperor

05 Hierophant

06 The Lovers

07 The Chariot

08 Strength

09 The Hermit

10 Wheel of Fortune

11 Justice

12 The Hanged Man

13 Death

14 Temperance

15 The Devil

16 The Tower

17 The Star

18 The Moon

19 The Sun

20 Judgment

21 The World

The Minor Arcana

The minor arcana are similar the a deck of playing cards, in that they contain 4 suits, each suit numbered 1 through the king. The only difference being the tarot holds an extra court card, the Paige. These cards tell a story from beginning the end. There are 4 suits in the minor arcana, each represented by elements. The order of the suits are:

Wands – Momentum (Fire)

Cups – Emotional (Water)

Swords – Mental (Air)

Pentacles – Physical (Earth)

Each suit of the minor arcana can be split into 2 groups, the 10 numbered cards and the 4 court cards. The numbered cards represent experiences of life which we meet through events, interaction with others and the different feelings that we have. The 4 court cards don’t typically describe events or experiences, rather character types of people who may be entering our life, for us the learn from.

Numerology in Tarot

Numbers have significant synchronicities in our lives, which is mirrored within tarot cards. Every number has its own association with strengths and weaknesses. Using numerology, we can focus in on the energies which we are trying the manifest.

What can tarot cards do?

Tarot cards can not predict the future. They describe a moment in time when they are consulted. This moment is made up of a past, present and future. There are situations and choices in the past which have led up the the moment and the consequences of the moment are what may arise in the near future from our response. The tarot cards can give us guidance as the how we ended up in a particular moment and understanding of what may come from our response the that.

The past, present and future in any particular tarot card reading relate the around a 6-month window of time. They do not tell us of our fate, merely indicate influences or opportunities which may be affecting us, so as we can create our own future. The images of the tarot cards can help us the connect the our unconscious, bringing greater possibilities of response and choice.

The fate which tarot cards describe is images of the unconscious which we don’t normally have access the. They can help us the make this connection and reflect back the us what the unconscious already knows.

What happens when you get a tarot reading

When you get a tarot reading, the person giving the reading will decide on a layout the place the cards in. This is called a spread. You should have a question ready in your head even if it is just a vague idea of what you are seeking the find. This is because, on an subconscious level, the cards chosen will reflect that question. The reader will shuffle the cards. You will be asked the select a few cards and place them face down on the table. Then the reader will continue the select from the top of the shuffled pile of cards. Once this is done, the cards will be placed into the spread on the table in front of you the be read.

There are many layouts which can be used when giving / receiving a tarot reading.

One of the most popular is the 3 card spread. This is the simplest of tarot spreads, which is representative of past, present, future. This shows us what has been influencing past and present situations in love and a guidance into what may happen if we were the continue on this pathway.

The cards will show not only the direction of the individuals’ life at the time of the reading, but also the unconscious motivations from the past which have helped the create this situation. Even though we are all individuals’ and unique, the experiences that life has the offer us are inbuilt in us all, which are part of the process of living as human beings. Using images of the tarot allow us the have a relationship with our inner self.

Have you any experiences with tarot readings which you would like the share? Or any questions please feel free the comment below.

Much love